Kissing Ted Callahan (and other guys) by Amy Spalding

kissing ted callahan

 

Kissing Ted Callahan is fun, quirky, sweet, and funny all at the same time. With a glowing compliment from on of my favorite YA authors, Stephanie Perkins, on the cover and a comparison to Easy A, I knew I had to read it. I’m glad I did, too!

In it, two L.A. teens, Riley and Reid, challenge each other to act on their crushes after finding their other two bandmates in a compromising position. They chronicle their adventures in a notebook that they trade back and forth, and what results is a story full of music and fun and the hope of romance, and it gets bonus points for making me laugh. I like Riley’s parts better, but it was all good stuff.

This book is out now, so check it out! You can find it here on Amazon or at your favorite bookseller.

Advertisements

Paper or Plastic by Vivi Barnes

paper or plastic

I loved the characters, especially Noah and Lex, but also their family members and the whole SmartMart staff. Barnes definitely has a talent for characterization! There were some things that just felt a little off to me, like the occasional bout of foul language, the pageants, and the whole tornado thing. Ultimately, though, this is a very realistic portrayal of teenagers and I love the positive message here that sometimes great things happen even as a result of our mistakes. Check it out Paper or Plastic.

When Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez

when reason breaks

Oh my goodness, what a debut! Suspenseful, relevant, and hopeful…There’s so much to love in When Reason Breaks. Plus, I loved the depiction of an authentic and caring teacher in this, because we do exist! Check out the official book blurb below, then find it here on Amazon.

13 Reasons Why meets the poetry of Emily Dickinson in this gripping debut novel perfect for fans of Sara Zarr or Jennifer Brown.

A Goth girl with an attitude problem, Elizabeth Davis must learn to control her anger before it destroys her. Emily Delgado appears to be a smart, sweet girl, with a normal life, but as depression clutches at her, she struggles to feel normal. Both girls are in Ms. Diaz’s English class, where they connect to the words of Emily Dickinson. Both are hovering on the edge of an emotional precipice. One of them will attempt suicide. And with Dickinson’s poetry as their guide, both girls must conquer their personal demons to ever be happy.

In an emotionally taut novel with a richly diverse cast of characters, readers will relish in the poetry of Emily Dickinson and be completely swept up in the turmoil of two girls grappling with demons beyond their control.